EYFS Curriculum


Our Early Years Foundation Stage here at Howley Grange follows the statutory curriculum requirements as outlined in the latest version of the EYFS statutory framework that applies from September 2021. We offer a broad and balanced curriculum that covers the statutory aspects as well as other knowledge and skills to support children’s personal development, prepare children for their next stage of education and develop the whole child.

The EYFS framework includes 7 areas of learning and development that are equally important and interconnected. However, 3 areas known as the prime areas are seen as particularly important for igniting curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building children’s capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

The prime areas are:

  • Communication and language
  • Physical development
  • Personal, social and emotional development

The prime areas are strengthened and applied through 4 specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

These are also underpinned by the characteristics of Effective Learning, as detailed in the framework:


Yearly Overview


Below is the yearly overview which, along with the interests of the children, is used to plan learning experiences known as ‘Jolly Jobs’ and enhanced provision known as ‘learning lots activities’ to provide all children the opportunity to achieve the Early Learning Goal (ELG) in each of the 7 areas of learning.

EYFS Policy